For Release: September 14, 2000




Show Participants to Include: Jennifer Aniston, Cate Blanchett, Glenn Gordon Caron, Michael Clarke Duncan, Linda Fiorentino, Melanie Griffith, Larry King, Haley Joel Osment, Matthew Perry, Kevin Pollak, Paul Reiser, Alan Rickman, Julia Roberts, Billy Bob Thornton, Chris Tucker to Honor Willis with Taped Messages From Ben Affleck, Alec Baldwin, President George Bush, George Clooney, Harrison Ford, Jeremy Irons, Samuel L. Jackson, Norman Jewison, David Letterman, Regis Philbin, Brad Pitt, Rob Reiner, William Sadler and Sybil Shepard


Julia Roberts will present the American Cinematheque Award to Bruce Willis at the American Cinematheque’s 15th Annual Moving Picture Ball on September 23rd. The show will air as Hollywood Salutes Bruce Willis: An American Cinematheque Tribute on Turner Network Television (TNT), Wednesday, September 27, at 8 p.m. (ET/PT). Alan Rickman who appeared with Willis in DIEHARD 2 will host the show. The live event will take place on Saturday, September 23, at the Beverly Hilton Hotel’s International Ballroom in Beverly Hills.


Show participants include: Jennifer Aniston, Cate Blanchett, Glenn Gordon Caron, Michael Clarke Duncan, Linda Fiorentino, Melanie Griffith, Larry King, Haley Joel Osment, Matthew Perry, Kevin Pollak, Paul Reiser, Julia Roberts, Billy Bob Thornton, Chris Tucker are scheduled to honor Willis during the prestigious event. Ben Affleck, Alec Bladwin, President George Bush, George Clooney, Harrison Ford, Jeremy Irons, Samuel L. Jackson, Norman Jewison, David Letterman, Regis Philbin, Brad Pitt, Rob Reiner, Alan Rickman, William Sadler and Cybil Shepard will convery their congratulatory comments to Willis via taped messages.

Willis was the unanimous choice of the Cinematheque Board of Directors selection committee, which has, since 1986, annually honored an extraordinary artist (actor, producer, director or writer) in the entertainment industry who is fully engaged in his or her work and is committed to making a significant contribution to the art of film and television.

Since 1988 Bruce Willis has starred in some of the most successful films in motion picture history, including the Die Hard series, 1998’s action-adventure blockbuster Armageddon and 1999’s box-office phenomenon, The Sixth Sense. Willis first emerged as a major star in the popular hit television series Moonlighting, for which he won an Emmy and a Golden Globe Award. His first star turn came in 1984, in Sam Shepard’s play Fool for Love, just before he was chosen to star in Moonlighting.

Willis made his feature film debut in the Blake Edwards comedy Blind Date, which also starred Kim Basinger. His next film, Die Hard, was his first blockbuster, one of the top-grossing movies of 1988. In 1989, Willis demonstrated his versatility by providing the voice of the wise-cracking baby in Look Who’s Talking, one of the top-grossing comedies in box office history, as well as playing a Vietnam War vet haunted by combat memories in Norman Jewison’s In Country.

In 1990, Willis starred in Die Hard 2, one of the biggest box office hits of the summer. He went on to star in the disturbing psychological drama Mortal Thoughts. In 1994, Quentin Tarantino directed Willis in the drama Pulp Fiction, the Grand Prize winner of the Palme d’Or at the Cannes Film Festival. He was also seen in Nobody’s Fool, co-starring Paul Newman, and starred in the box office hit Die Hard 3. He went on to star in the hit motion picture Twelve Monkeys, followed by The Fifth Element for acclaimed French director Luc Besson. The Fifth Element became one of the highest-grossing films in the history of French cinema.



- MORE -


In 1998, Willis starred in the action-adventure blockbuster Armageddon, which turned out to be Disney’s highest-grossing film of that year. Willis’ production company independently produced Alan Rudolph’s Breakfast Of Champions (based on the best-selling novel by Kurt Vonnegut), in which he also starred. Following the critically acclaimed box office phenomenon The Sixth Sense, in 1999, he co-starred with Michelle Pfeiffer in The Story Of Us. Once again turning his attention to the independent marketplace, Willis produced and starred in the hit black comedy The Whole Nine Yards. Willis currently stars in Disney’s The Kid, now in theaters. He and his Sixth Sense director M. Night Shyamalan re-teamed for the drama Unbreakable, which will be released theatrically in fall 2000. Willis also received a 2000 Emmy Award for his guest starring role on the hit Friends.

The Moving Picture Ball is produced by Robert Dalrymple and Paul Flattery who are also executive producers of the television show. Sandy Shapiro is the executive producer for Turner Network Television (TNT).

Eddie Murphy received the first American Cinematheque Award in 1986. Previous honorees are as follows: Bette Midler (1987); Robin Williams (1988); Steven Spielberg (1989); Ron Howard (1990); Martin Scorsese (1991); Sean Connery (1992); Michael Douglas (1993); Rob Reiner (1993); Mel Gibson (1995); Tom Cruise (1996); John Travolta (1997); Arnold Schwarzenegger (1998); and Jodie Foster (1999).

Twelve hundred entertainment industry notables are expected to attend the Moving Picture Ball. This annual event is the American Cinematheque’s largest benefit, providing funds for the non-profit film exhibition organization’s programs throughout the year and operation of the historic landmark Egyptian Theatre on Hollywood Boulevard.

Established in 1981, the American Cinematheque is a non-profit, viewer-supported film exhibition and cultural organization dedicated to the celebration of the moving picture in all of its forms. The Cinematheque presents film and video programming which ranges from the classics of American and international cinema to new independent films and digital work. Exhibition of rare works, special and rare prints, etc., combined with fascinating post-screening discussions with the filmmakers who created the work, are a Cinematheque tradition that keep audiences coming back for once-in-a-lifetime cinema experiences. The American Cinematheque renovated and re-opened (on December 4, 1998), the historic 1922 Hollywood Egyptian Theatre as its permanent home. This includes a state-of-the-art, 616-seat theatre housed within Sid Grauman’s first grand movie palace on Hollywood Boulevard. The exotic courtyard is fully restored to its 1922 grandeur. The Egyptian was the home of the very first Hollywood movie premiere, in 1922.

Turner Network Television, currently seen in 79.4 million homes, is Turner Broadcasting System, Inc.'s 24-hour, advertiser-supported service offering original motion pictures and miniseries; original series, non-fiction specials and live events; contemporary films from the world's largest film library, the combined Turner and Warner Bros. film libraries; exciting NBA, professional golf and Wimbledon Tennis action; exclusive coverage of both the 2000 Winter and 2001 Goodwill Games; and popular television series.

Turner Broadcasting System, Inc., a subsidiary of Time Warner Inc., is a major producer of news and entertainment product around the world and the leading provider of programming for the basic cable industry.

For press credentials send a fax on letterhead from your outlet to Margot Gerber at 323 461 9737 by Monday, Sept. 18.



- 30 -


Walter Ward TNT 404/885-0298

Lauren Hammann TNT 404/885-0797

Samantha Graham TNT 212/852-6853

Carrie O’Brien TNT 310/788-6906 carrie.o’

Margot Gerber American Cinematheque 323/461-2020 ext. 115


Moving Picture Ball




Press Information


Egyptian Theatre

Press Releases